Skip to content

2012 My Writing Resolution Year

January 9, 2012

Happy New Year!

No I have not died and gone to heaven, well writing heaven may be. I have been very blessed with the time and space to get really stuck into my book these past weeks and I have chosen to go for it.

Did you know that many successful people actually have tendencies towards personality disorders or mental health issues that they chanel positively and constructively.

Take David Beckham. He has obsessive compulsive traits and has openly shared the fact that he can’t leave the house unless all the tin cans, three of each variety including bake beans are lined up perfectly in his cupboards. It is this attention to detail and perfectionism that probably gave him the focus ┬áto kick a ball endlessly until he got his goal scoring as perfect as possible. He was also wise enough to find himself a partner who did not mind his quirks and let him get on with it.

Maybe I am currently obssesive ┬ácompulsive about writing. I passionately loving telling my story and in this season I am going to focus on this to the exclusion of lots of other distractions. My New Years resolution is to get this job done as well as I can this year. Preferably before next summer but I am also not going to let my perfectionist tendencies dictate the pace. I am so loving this creative process that seems to have a life of it’s own at times, as though someone else is guiding my hand.

What a start to the year, focus, purpose, self-control and a higher calling to use what I have learned to help others. Who needs fame and fortune. as far as I am concerned this is as good as it gets, the perfect excuse to stay in my pyjama’s all day and do something I passionately love, at least for four days a week. Must remember to brush my teeth today, at least before the kids and Oh! get home!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 9:44 am

    So glad to hear from you, and even more so your message! Very upbeat and inspiring, I just know you’ll succeed in writing your book and getting your story out there. Now I’m off to shower before the day gets away from me, plus it helps with writing ideas ;)

  2. January 10, 2012 11:39 am

    Great to hear that you are so inspired and so enjoying the writing experience. I wish you all the best with the book and look forward to reading the end result.

Trackbacks

  1. Writers Block and other stumbling blocks. « Count Only Sunny Hours

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

