Skip to content

‘Outing’ myself.

January 19, 2012

Well, I am certainly out of the closet in terms of where I am coming from spiritually and at a rather interesting time. The strands in my life seem to be coming together like a persian carpet. I was so busy examining all the tiny knots on the back, I nearly missed the magical design on the front. 

This week I hooked up with a writing support  group and realised how much I have been been missing my WWW‘s -Wonderful Writing Women-back in Holland. About twenty writers met in Bread and Bean which of course reminded me immediately of Bagel and Bean back in the Hague; where I met writing friends for writing chats.

At my suggestion, we exchanged blog details, forcing me out of the blogging closet.

So far my followers are either my WWW’s- dear friends and trusted confidents- or total strangers, I never meet face to face.

Then bam a profound dilemma landed in my comment box curtesy of big sis WWW and I find myself being painfully honest to writing strangers; who I will be meeting with twice a month- with no cyber space to protect me. Steep learning curve in authenticity.

An interesting thread woven into my writing life is my newest WWW who I invited along to the group. She  just happens to be a very experienced professional in international publishing. She may be the professional but she now wants to write. I am a great encourager,” look you can do it, see I’m just one step ahead on the path, come on you, catch up, let me show you how!” A perfect warp and weft.

I am delighted to tell you that I am no longer shaking in my writing boots because I know what is at the heart of my motivation to write. It is what I have in common with my first ever WWW Jo, whose professional motto is ‘share what I know to help people grow.‘   For me to be truly honest, my writing cannot exclude my spiritual self.

Just to be clear, not about religion but all about love.

Tennessee Williams once wrote “if the writing is honest it cannot be separated from the man who wrote it.”

Oh and did I tell you I once lived in Tennessee !

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 2:10 pm

    Congratulations, Sarah, for getting out of the closet. It can make you feel vulnerable and exposed, but in doing so it is liberating. Love what you wrote about the knots on the carpet. True. I wrote about coming out as a poet on my blog recently and you know, more people got in touch with me about it than at any other time. http://www.joparfitt.com/2011/12/coming-clean/

    Go girl!

    Jo

    • Sarah Koblow permalink*
      January 21, 2012 8:46 am

      Flying like an eagle and thanks for showing me how to fly ‘big sis eagle’!! I have had some wonderful responses and hope my venerability helps others with theirs.

  2. January 20, 2012 11:50 am

    This post came at the perfect time because I’ve been giving a lot of thought to how we tend to compartmentalize different parts of our lives to protect ourselves from exposing too much too soon to too many. As the boxes open and the walls start to come down, it is indeed a scary time. I feel as though I’ve been coming out as a writer in stages, peeling off the layers between the compartments one by one. Good for you that you know what is at the heart of your motivation to write: it’s your North Star and will guide you well.

    • Sarah Koblow permalink*
      January 21, 2012 8:51 am

      I have to laugh at another Godincident. Emma my middle daughter is on a school trip to Borneo, fab service trip called WWW Week Without Walls. What I admire most about you Linda is how safely and boldly you have achieved this. Thank you for holding my hand as I jump in the deep end feet first again and sharing my adventures in expat land!!

  3. January 21, 2012 12:00 pm

    Being brave in your writing means you can’t shut out any part (only delete after the fact). I’m glad our group motivated you to explore your authentic self. In these modern overteched times, we could use more spirituallity!

    • Sarah Koblow permalink*
      January 22, 2012 8:09 am

      Yes, a brave new world but exciting opportunities are so much better than being paralysed with fear as I have been for so many years. Thank you for pointing me towards a magazine that has just accepted my piece from lost trailing spouse to star writer!

  4. January 24, 2012 6:53 am

    Hi Sarah,
    I’ve just been catching up on some old blogs I had saved to the ‘read later’ pile and came across your guest post in Adventures in Expatland. I immediately clicked over here. We have a lot in common (including inspiration from our mutual friend Jo) and I look forward to following more of your thoughts now that you’re out of the closet! I set up a writing group in Dubai when I lived there and it was definitely a safe haven to share. I feel the same as Linda as I ‘peel off my layers’…sometimes I have to brush off the bugs I find underneath. They’re not huge hairy bugs but I’m still not sure which ones to expose but I’m working on it!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Anne

    • Sarah Koblow permalink*
      January 24, 2012 11:35 am

      Welcome Anne , great to have some more WWW’s in my region and appreciate your encouraging words!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

